Help me out here….

…. because I just don’t get it. You’ve all seen the news about the guys stuck on Mt. Hood.

I’m having trouble understanding one thing here. Perhaps someone can explain this to me.

I do not mean to be unsympathetic, but I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone in a northern state, or any temperate zone, would CLIMB A MOUNTAIN IN WINTER. I see that one possible advantage would be that the bears are hibernating, but that’s all.

I live in New Mexico, and I still don’t go up to the Sandias in winter. It’s over 10,000 feet. Meaning it’s farooking cold up there. Why, why, O why would someone attempt to hike to the top of a mountain in a cold state like Oregon in December? Am I missing something?

Or are these guys paying the ultimate price for making a really dumb decision?

5 Comments

  1. Hah! I blogged about this topic, too–and why O why are we wasting resources trying to rescue these idiots when there are kids freezing to death in their homes from the same storm?

  2. I think the rescuers enjoy the challenge as much as the idiots who are stuck.

  3. We get fools like this here all the time. They put the rescuers lives at risk and I think they should be called what they are – idiots.

  4. We had this same conversation tonight. The amount of empathy for the family trapped in their car for a week compared to three hikers who chose to go mountain-hiking in mid December? Vastly different. They didn’t deserve to die but yeah. I’m with you here.

    It takes balls to call that emperor “naked.” 😉

  5. You climb when conditions are right for it. I’m not a climber, but know someone who summited Mt. Rainier. Rainier is a glacier and so is always under ice. Dunno ’bout Hood. However, they had to choose the time of year and begin the ascent so as to ensure they would be climbing while it was all frozen and iced over. If you climb a glacier when it’s in a warm cycle, and melting, you run the risk of more avalanches, more crevasses caving in, more likelihood of falling to your death. You can climb atop hard frozen snow and ice. You have a more difficult time slushing through wet stuff.

    The only thing you have to be ‘ware of in winter is storms. It doesn’t always storm in the wintertime, see.

    Climbers die on mountains like Hood, Rainier and especially Everest all the time. It’s part of the risk they take in doing this and, I suspect, part of why they do it; the thrill and challenge of a near death experience and beating the odds.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

