Let it snow, let it snow, let it fucking stop already.

338819788_83368f1814.jpg  338802924_60aa4c6d94.jpg  338802921_6b09ef80e2.jpg

Albuquerque got an amazing 2 feet of snow last weekend, piling on top of several inches that were left over from the previous week. I haven’t seen it in the news, but I’ve heard that this snowfall sets a new record for snow accumulation in Albuquerque for a 48 hour period.

This makes the fact that the city never even tries to be prepared even worse. My street looks JUST LIKE the one above still. No salt, no plows, not even a “fuck you.” Usually, I’m setting the parking brake and parking the car in reverse to keep my Bronco from rolling down my fairly steep driveway, but Sunday morning I actually got stuck there. I had to put on the 4-wheel drive just to get out of my driveway and go down the street to the grocery store. Yesterday was better, since I’d put the ruts in the snow on Sunday, but the side streets are still dangerous as Hell. You see, the sun melts SOME of it, which sinks below the snow that doesn’t melt, and is a nice sheet of ice come morning. My front stoop is under two solid inches of ice, and of course you can’t buy a bag of salt in this town. I got some cheap kitty litter just to provide traction.

Given all this, I was more than willing to just stay home Sunday night. These folks are dangerous enough on New Year’s Eve, without adding ice and snow to the mix. I thought about walking down to O’neill’s, but it hardly seemed worth it to freeze my ass off just to sing Auld Lang Syne over some cheap champaign. Not when my living room is warm, I have a vodka martini in my hand, and there’s a Twilight Zone marathon on the tube.

Anyway, I think I now have the legal right to slap any moron that says that New Mexico is in a drought. That’s always irked me, since we’re in a desert, FFS. Well, we just got about five years worth of snow in one weekend, with more predicted next weekend. Not bad for a desert.

I didn’t take the above pictures (so no, I don’t know anything about the doggie) but they are pics of THIS snowfall, taken over the weekend, and show you exactly what the residential neighborhoods look like. I expect it wil be quite awhile before Albuquerque looks like this again. I mean, it’s not uncommon for us to have no snow and no freezing weather at all in the winter. And even though it’s beautiful, I hope it is awhile, since I don’t think even this will get the dumbasses in charge to buy some salt or plows for the next time. They’ll opt to stay with the fiscally sensitive “just wait untill it melts and dribbles away” plan.

The locals can’t appreciate it anway. Driving around the other day, I saw one – count ’em- ONE child out playing in the snow. Even I – our school’s asthmatic bookworm- would have been out throwing snowballs and running amok after a snowfall like that. These local kids, evidently, didn’t know how to enjoy this. The one I saw was on a little sled, pushing himself slowly down his not-very-steep diveway, looking a lot like a legless veteran. Evidently, this snowfall was a good excuse to sit in and play video games all day.

I guess that someday, these kids will be telling their kids about the “Blizzard of ’06” and how they valiantly survived it. I’ll still be talking about the blizzard of ’78 in Illinois. As I’m sure those of you up north will agree, anything under four feet just don’t count!

15 Comments

  1. I totally remember that blizzard!! I had a friend living with me cuz her mom’s house was all screwed up. We listened to my kooky records and baked a “pi” cake for the calculus teacher. He was so cute. Oh yeah, there was a big bunch of snow.

  2. Paula- I was living in the country a few miles outside of Huntley, not far from where you were. We were stuck there for a week. We actually had to shovel several feet of snow from the driveway just to make it low enough for a plow to do the rest. I’ll never forget that year……

  3. that is blowing my mind. we’ve only had one snowfall so far, and it was only an inch or two at that!

  4. “and it was only an inch or two at that!”

    That’s what you women always say…..

  5. DETROIT-50 degrees and sunny. Go figure!

  6. I remember ’78. I was in college in Missouri. We made paths from the dorms to the main buildings, because we had to get to the cafeteria. The snow was waist-deep or more on each side of the paths. We could get to class this way, but none of the profs showed up!

  7. I am in the South of England and snow here is as rare as hens teeth so i do feel a slight pang of jealousy when i see your pictures with all that snow. Then i remember how the last time we did get snow i did nothing but whinge about how cold and slippery it was. Maybe snow is one of those things that alway looks better in pictures.

  8. No, Lucy, it looks best splattered across your friend’s face!

  9. Hey Joe, I know snow can be a pain but I hope you’re consoling yourself with the thought of the joy that you (with your pretty snowy pictures) are bringing to your readers 🙂

  10. Here in northern Kentucky we’ve had no snow. It is supposed to be sunny and 60 today. MY DAY OFF! Guess it’s time to rip down those christmas lights

  11. Waaaahhhh!

  12. Hey Jeff…… at least you guys have salt and plows up there. Think about how little snow it would take to totally fuck Denver up if you didn’t.

  13. Dude, they don’t salt the roads up here. No salt whatsoever. Which is great for preventing rust on cars, but shit for clearing ice. Also, we have a paltry amount of plows for a city our size. Problem is, we typically get one, maybe two big storms a year, so having a bunch of heavy machinery sitting in sheds 360 days out of the year isn’t fiscally prudent. The last few weeks have been crazy, though, because we got two storms within a week of each other, each bringing lots of snow. As long as I’ve lived here (10 years now) I’ve never seen that. Typically after a big storm it’s in the 50s and it all melts within a week. Not this time. Anyway, all that aside, I’m just busting your balls. Ain’t no way you peeps could be prepared for two feet!

  14. They clear the main drags here in ALb. by letting us drive on them long enough to melt the ice. That’s about as far as planning goes here. It’s the same as you said, the snow doesn’t usually stick for long, if it accumulates at all. The temp. just won’t give us a break this year.

    I’m surprised at what you say, though, since Denver has a reputation as a snowy, wintery place!

  15. There will still be a drought you know…. it’s the wrong kind of snow.

    Well that’s what they tell us when the place grinds to a halt at the slightest little snow flurry.

    What I want to know is, what is the right kind of bloody snow??????


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

