The state of hate.

My WTFometer blasted loudly across the office this morning when I logged on and read this. It seems that some actor from some doctor show that I don’t watch is entering therapy because he said an unkind word. He needs, evidently, to be reeducated.

In a recent debate about racism I said “Have we achieved racial amity in America? Not really, we’ve just established that certain people cannot say certain words. ” This is fine example of just that.

While this wasn’t exactly racism, it still fits the “intolerance” mold. At least, all the “tsk tsk”ers are saying so. And there are plenty of those.

I wonder why, though. After all, much of the country is currently involved with trying to make it illegal in their states for gays to be married. Much of the country still opposes gay adoptions. Gays are frequently targeted for violence and murdered just because they’re gay. In more than half of the United States, it is still legal to fire an otherwise perfect employee simply because that person is a homosexual. Don’t be openly gay if you’d like a military career, either. As a country, we have not come anywhere close to treating gays, as a whole, like people.

But boy, aren’t we good folks for being down on that hater that said a word. Man, it’s bad to say words like that. Go ahead and fire the guy, or deny him the same rights as everyone else in the country, but don’t call him a faggot. If you do, you need therapy to find out what’s wrong with you. Hater.

This is indicative of American thought. We don’t need to change ourselves, first of all. We need to change other people. And the best way to change what is in their hearts and minds is to change the way they talk. Everything will be okay if we make sure that certain people don’t say certain words. Not everyone, mind you. After all, I’m sure it’s still okay for Harvey Feirstien to call Elton John a faggot. After all, they’re both faggots, right? It’s the straight people who cannot say the word. Nothing wrong with voting against the marriages or denying the adoption, that’s your right as a free American. But don’t say the word.

So what, exactly, does this accomplish? Does it bring the gays of America any closer to legal and social equality? Does it make them secure in their jobs, their homes, or walking down the street? Does it make the rest of us better, more open hearted, more open-minded, than we were before?

I don’t think so. I think it just makes us all that little bit more superficial. After all, don’t a hater’s actions speak more loudly than a hater’s words?

Just in case I’m wrong, though, I’d like to say to all the fags, dykes, beaners, kikes, jigaboos, slopes, dotheads, sand niggers, limeys, frogs, nips, tards, fatasses, runts, hicks, and Republicans that I may have offended in the past, I am deeply sorry. I will never use words like that again. In fact, I have just now used most of these for the first time, and I feel horrible about it.

Not you assholes, though. I have a special post for you people next week.

24 Comments

  1. Republicans

    I can’t believe you wrote that word in public!! What’s wrong with you?

  2. Nothing wrong with voting against the marriages or denying the adoption, that’s your right as a free American. But don’t say the word.

    Good use of sarcasm and righteous indignation, Joe, but I think the above generalization falls flat. It’s not the people taking exception to the word who are squashing civil rights. Yes, they are going all gonzo PC and making sure those who misspeak get the “proper treatment,” but IMO their intent is to eliminate hate speech – not a bad thing.

    We don’t need to change ourselves, first of all. We need to change other people.

    WRT how myself and billions of others have transcended bigotry – sure, I’m down with that.

    And the best way to change what is in their hearts and minds is to change the way they talk.

    For the sake of my progeny, I will strive for him to learn not to use the language of bigotry and why not to use it. I’ve had to overcome a certain amount of institutionalized/cultural bigotry from my own father, and I hope the lessons just keep on going on down through the generations.

    “But those things which proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and they defile the man.” Matthew 15:18

  3. I disagree, O’Tim. These may be differnt folks, but when they focus on masterbatory endeavors like this, they become part of the problem in my view. This time and energy could be better spend focusing on REAL issues, rather than what some actor said in a conversation that was not open to the public.

    Are the purveyors of political correctness truly among those that have “transcended bigotry?” I wonder. Remember the people who have railed against homosexuals just to be outed as homosexuals themselves? We’ve had a few recently. I doubt they have a lock on hypocrisy. I think a lot of people who feel biased about gays will want to be seen as “tsk tsk”ers. They think that that alone makes them better.

    As for your progeny, you aren’t going to teach him not to talk like a bigot. You’re going to teach him not to BE a bigot.There’s a world of difference there. When you’re not a bigot, not speaking like one follows automatically. However, the reverse is not true.

    I assume the Biblical quote is window dressing…. you know me too well to think that I’ll be swayed by it. The bigots can use that book for their arguments as well.

  4. I try to leave light footprints and live & let live. Too much time is wasted in negative name calling, etc. That being said, to try to change “other people” is like trying to teach a pig to sing. Totally futile and it annoys the pig.

  5. Oh, and also, O’Tim, returning to your first point: I don’t see anyone having to go to therapy because they speak out against gay marriage, or because someone gets fired legally for being gay. The wrong tree is being barked up here, IMO.

  6. We have come a long way battling against bigotry and prejudice but it seems that Homosexuality is one of those things that it is still OK to be openly discriminatly about.
    Hopefully this attitude will change as each future generation the hatred is watered down and they realise that it is not who you choose to sleep with that’s important.
    In my own lifetime i have seen attitudes change so we are moving in the right direction, just far too slowly.

  7. Don’t say the word. Such a good point. I think, though, that the guy used the word to provoke the other guy and caused a fight. What if the gay guy had called the actor the “n” word? There would be people hootin’ and hollerin’ for the gay actor’s job. I can hear it now: “Fire the bastard!” One kind of bigotry is not worse than another, if you ask me.

    Sure, sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can hurt forever.

  8. Actually, I don’t think the gay guy was even there at the time. IIRC, the black guy was bitching because the gay guy was late for work.

  9. “One kind of bigotry is not worse than another, if you ask me”.

    Absolutely. Agree with O’Tim as well.

  10. it’s funny that you can say the word if you put the word ‘sand’ in front of it… not funny haha, but funny strange.(and i am not sorry at all when i offend republicans)

  11. What, that harrassing a guy into therapy over saying a word that every man in America alive today has said is the same as actually DOING something? No, it isn’t. It’s just an easy way to appear like you’re doing something about a problem while going blithely about your own business. I’m not impressed by political correctness. PC is like buttercream frosting on a cake made out of plaster.

    I’m going to bet that at some point in his life, O’Tim has used the word “faggot”, and I’m also going to bet that he doesn’t feel a need to go to therapy over it.

    If life becomes better for homosexuals in America, it will be because the rest of us begin treating them like human beings and extend to them the same rights that we have, not because we stop saying “faggot”. But if empty patronizing makes people feel better about themselves, I guess they are free to indulge.

  12. My point was that efforts to discourage bigoted language can’t be a bad thing, and Joe you are right as rain in saying that’s worthless without the action to back it up. Is this not the case with everything in life?

    It’d be great if those damn sand republicans would learn this.

  13. “It’d be great if those damn sand republicans would learn this.”

    LOL!

  14. BTW, folks, there’s a great debate about gay rights going on over at Lucy’s.

  15. PC is like buttercream frosting on a cake made out of plaster.

    *confused* Well, you can still eat the frosting, right? Cake is overrated anyway. Well, except for that wonderful margarita cake my friend’s mom made, and that yummy kahlua chocolate cake my cow orker’s wife made. But 99% of the time, it’s only the frosting that matters. I don’t think this is a good analogy, Joe.

    I don’t let my kids say the N-word or the F-word because they make me cringe. I doubt it will make a difference in the world, but it makes me happier not to hear them in my house.

  16. If you DO hear them say it, are you going to send them to a therapist?

    FFS, people, I’m typing in English here, right? I’m not saying that everyone should go around saying these words. I’m saying that harrassing some guy into therapy isn’t DOING something about hatred, it’s PRETENDING to do something for appearance’s sake. “Gays” can be discriminated against just as easily as “fags” can. Why do we pretend to have fixed a social situation just because we’ve created a taboo word? And why are people who have used the word themselves supporting a person’s having to go into therapy for saying it, when they didn’t go into therapy themselves?

  17. Why do we pretend to have fixed a social situation just because we’ve created a taboo word?

    “We” who? I don’t even think the PC mental masturbators are “pretending” this.

    And why are people who have used the word themselves supporting a person’s having to go into therapy for saying it, when they didn’t go into therapy themselves?

    Well it has not been done in these comments, and even if your supposition about myself or others is true, you are now setting off my Chill-Out-o-meter

  18. Are you telling me that that word has NEVER passed your lips?

  19. I hate disingenuous apologies, and I hate the “calling for” apologies even more. Within the celebrity sphere (acting, political or otherwise) it’s ALWAYS just public relations — it’s a publicist doing damage control. So I just don’t take them seriously. I don’t give a shit that he’s going into therapy over it, and I don’t for a second believe that he’s going to change. Doesn’t mean he won’t, and it doesn’t mean that the therapy might be just the thing he needs. But we’re bombarded by apologies and calls for apologies every single day, and I’m cynical as shit over the whole thing.

  20. Koz- exactly. Is this going to mean that everyone is going to go into therapy every time they have a lapse and say something that someone else is offended by?

  21. Well fuck, now you broke it. I wonder if he’ll want another one for Valentine’s Day?

  22. If you DO hear them say it, are you going to send them to a therapist?

    No, I just give them a good spanking. Ha ha ha ha. Kidding! Don’t call the cops! (As if. They’re both stronger than me anyway.)

    On the one hand, I agree with you and Koz–these forced apologies are meaningless. OTOH, I don’t think it’s bad that celebrities are publicly criticized for acting like assholes, whether it’s racism, driving drunk, or whatever. We have way too much celebrity worship going on here in the first place. So I guess I’m a hypocrite here: I don’t think a normal guy should be sent to therapy over calling someone a fag, but I’m fine with a celebrity being raked over the coals for it.

  23. “I don’t think it’s bad that celebrities are publicly criticized for acting like assholes, whether it’s racism, driving drunk, or whatever.”

    I’m with you there.

  24. Republicans…ha!! I don’t even know what race 1/2 of those racial slurs are meant to insult, so I guess that’s a good thing, huh?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

