Thirteen things I remember from long ago for no particular reason.

 Well, The “Kerfuffle That Never Was” has played itself out…. back to regular blogging!

1. Avagadro’s number = 6.02 x 10 e23

2. Donde esta el cuarto de bano? (sorry, this blog doesn’t have the special characters.)

3. Thomas Jefferson invented the swivel chair.

4. The ORIGINAL Green Lantern had no power over wood.

5. Pythagoras’ mother was named Pythia.

6. “Pink Lady and Jeff” was the worst TV show ever.

7. You can’t wash a whole potato chip down with milk.

8. My mom could out-stare an owl.

9. I Dream of Jeannie, The Brady Bunch, Gilligan’s Island, and Star Trek were all turned into Saturday Morning cartoons.

10. The Hardy Boys hung out with Chet and Biff. (Were there really people named “Biff”?)

11. The Star-belly Sneeches had bellies with stars. The Plain-belly Sneeches had none upon thars.

12. Shelly Long was the “John M. Smythe” girl in Chicago.

13. Necco wafers could be used as quarters in the automatic tollbooths.

16 Comments

  1. i once had a crush on a boy named biff. alas, he was 16 and i was a lowly 11 year old. it was not to be. (thank goodness)

  2. I love the Sneeches! And I didn’t know IDOJ was a cartoon. That’s sort of … sacrilegious.

  3. Now I must go search the pantry for chips and the fridge for milk. This theory is screaming to be tested.

  4. I love the sneetches, both star-bellied and plain, but Horton was my absolute favorite Suess character.

  5. wow, all the yuckiest candies ever made are right at your fingertips at that Candy Baron site! yeeuck!

    I don’t know any Biffs and certainly wouldn’t date a Biff. When I think of a Biff I think of a big, muscly, stupid lunkhead of a guy who likes to beat his wife.

  6. When I think of a Biff, I think of Batman. He came between “pow” and “bam.”

  7. OMG, Pink Lady and Jeff! That was totally bad! I thought “The Girl With Something Extra” sucked, too, though.

  8. Yeah, in retrospect that wasn’t good, although you WANT to like Sally Field. (That was Sally, right? I barely remember it.)

  9. Good memory! Yes, it was Sally and that gawdawful John Davidson and her “extra” was ESP. She went from Gidget, to a flying nun, to a married lady with ESP, to Sybil! GLad she started getting good material.

  10. Excuse me, this is the third Thursday Thirteen I’ve seen, and I was under the impression that today is Wednesday. Am I lost, or what?

  11. John Davidson was cute though.

  12. You’re right, MC. I’ve been having one of those days where you keep thinking it’s the next day, and then the next day, you’re okay again. At least I hope I will be!

  13. wow, all the yuckiest candies ever made are right at your fingertips at that Candy Baron site! yeeuck!

    LOL Dawn! Indeed, about all Necco wafers were good for was toll money.

    And technically Shelley was the Homemakers girl (a division of John M. Smythe – or do you say Smythe?)

  14. Yeah, you can do special characters, here:

    Los baños están debajo del puente.

    I loved Neccos as a kid. No idea why. I also like saying Avogadro. “Avogadro. Avogadro.” Mmmm.

  15. I don’t know the code, and the posting page doesn’t have those characters on a menu like some others do. So there.

  16. Why do I know that if you have stale bread, you can put it in a Ziploc bag with a slice of apple and it will get soft again?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

