Let ’em eat meme.

 Well, Paula wanted me to do this thing, evidently she’s planning to come out here and take me to dinner! No problem there, I’m happy to eat on anybody’s dime! 

The rules:

1. Add a direct link to your post below the name of the person who tagged you. Include the city/state and country you’re in.

Nicole (Sydney, Australia)
velverse (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
LB (San Giovanni in Marignano, Italy)
Selba (Jakarta, Indonesia)
Olivia (London, England)
ML (Utah, USA)
Lotus (Toronto, Canada)
tanabata (Saitama, Japan)
Andi (Dallas [ish], Texas, United States)
Todd (Louisville, Kentucky, United States)
miss kendra (los angeles, california, u.s.a)
Jiggs Casey (Berkeley, CA, USA! USA! USA!)
Tits McGee (New England, USA)
Kat (Ontario, Canada)
Cheezy (London, England)
Paula (Orange County, California, U.S.)

Joe the Troll (Albuquerque, New Mexico, U.S.)

2. List out your top 5 favorite places to eat at your location.

Crazy Fish – Sushi joints are springing up like sage all over the city, so who knows if this will still be on my list come next year (or next month). This place is great, though. While they have all the traditional rolls, they also get creative, and the chalkboard next to the sushi bar always has some new invention that sounds (and probably will be) great. The service has always been good (for me, anyway. I’ve had friends say otherwise) and the portions are terrific. They don’t skimp on the slices. They also have a house creation called the Crazy Fish roll. You only get 2 pieces with this roll, but it’s about 5″ across, with thick slabs of about 5 different fish!

Sadie’s – There’s no dearth in this town of Mexican or New Mexican fare (and yes, the two differ). When considering it, there are a bunch of really great places to go to. Sadie’s is just really great. The place is huge so there’s usually no wait. The food is terrific, and the portions are almost ridiculous. Whenever I leave there I feel like I could just be rolled out to the parking lot like that blueberry kid from Willy Wonka. Red or green, their chile is top notch, and their delicious salsa can be found at every grocery store in town, although it always tastes better at the source.

Buca di Beppo – While good New Mexican is easy to find here, good italian is a different thing (and we won’t even discuss the local pizza). This place is the exception, but it has one problem. It really is a place for parties of six or more. That’s because it is a “family style” restauant, which for italians means “enough food to feed all of Verona piled up on one table.” Instead of ordering individual meals, the party orders the dishes that they want, and all are brought out in gigantic serving dishes, and you serve yourself as if you were at home. The last time I ate there, I brought home enough food for three meals, and I was only one of several people bringing food home! Everything I’ve tried is delicious, and they have a good wine list, too. For a couple, I suggest eschewing the dinners and just having the hot antipasto platter – MORE than enough food for two people!

Golden Crown Panaderia – This is the little bakery at the end of the street in my old neighborhood, the one that I didn’t even know was in business until they started redecorating. By the time I noticed they were in business, they had already been featured on the Food Network and was shipping food overseas! The best breakfast for a lazy (or hung-over) Saturday morning is a few of their empanadas (basically a mexican fruit tart with an awesome crust) and a cup of their coffee. I’m sure they’ll send some to you, and they’ll be delicious, but they are at their absolute best if you get them hot out of the oven.

Papadeaux – The only thing better than seafood is seafood cooked Nawlins style, and that’s what I get whenever I’m there. I’ll have the Blackened Anything. It’s a bit pricy, so I don’t go often, but when I do I make a heavenly pig out of myself and leave happy – and that’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?

I’m a doer, not a tagger. If this looks like fun, feel free to consider yourself tagged.

18 Comments

  1. For one of the reasons I’m planning to return to the old blog, just look at the list of names. WordPress really doesn’t give a shit how you WANT things to look.

  2. If I ever get to Albuquerque again for sure I’ll spring for dinner at Crazy Fish! Sounds wonderful. And it has to be better than the Pizza Hut dinner I had last time I was there. Blech.

  3. Eek. Pizza Hut is awful here. Actually, pizza is awful here, but that is among the worst of the bad.

  4. Buca di Beppo?

    Shudder.

    Ook ook

  5. Oh, that’s right, no one knows anything about italian food but you. Forgot that, sorry.

  6. Apology accepted 😉

    Ook ook

    But seriously …

  7. I’m with Fez on the ook, but I can sympathize, since there is not much in the way of Mexican food up here (but we have TONS of great Italian places…REAL Italian.) Pizza the Hut? ICK! I used to like it when I was a teenager, but these days it just seems like grease on previously-frozen dough.

  8. Nat-

    “but these days it just seems like grease on previously-frozen dough.”

    It SHOULD. That’s what it is!

    As far as the monkey goes-

    There’s really only two other italian places around here, one that I’ve been warned many times about, and one that is good sometimes, but not all he time. Buca has some good cooks here, and they heap the food on. Having grown up in an italian family near chicago, with a grandma who could match the best italy has to offer, I feel that I can make a worthwhile judgement on italian food, regardless of people who’ve never actually met me or my family and think they have the only opinion on the subject that matters.

  9. We have a Buca here, too, and while it’s not my favorite Italian place in town, I do think they have good food, and it’s a great place for a big family dinner.

  10. OMG, they have a Pappadeaux’s in Albuquerque?!

    Shit, everything I read today is making me homesick. Big time.

    Next time you’re in there, order the soft shell crabs for me…and then come back and torture me with the bliss of the meal.

  11. You got it, TLG! I LOVES me some soft-shell!

  12. I took both my Mom and niece(celebrating her very first Mom’s Day here at home while the hubby is away) to Pappadeaux’s for the big day. Great menu…and they gave us all fab coffee mugs.

    Good call!

  13. I must go to Buca Di Beppo if I’m ever around there….the more food the better!!

    Ps thanks for doing the tag. If you know of anyone else doing it please feel free to send me a message and I’ll update them too on the updated list of tag doers

  14. Woah! Settle down there tiger, and don’t go posing with any Winchesters just yet.

    I wasn’t questioning your heritage, how well you talk with your hands, your grandma’s pancetta & red peppers, or your ability to turn a jar of Prego into a work of art. I was just surprised, given my and many other folks’ experience, that you included BdB in your list.

    Consider it a sign of my respect for your palate that I was surprised. If I believed you to have bad taste I would have simply accepted it an moved on.

    Ook ook

  15. good pizza really is hard to find – there’s like 80 pizza joints in this town and none of them are exactly out of this world….

  16. Buca? You’ve been away from Chicago too long my friend.

  17. Wooo.. Crazy Sushi… I hope they will still be open till I drop by 🙂

    Nawlin style seafood at Papadeux. I wonder how it really taste like.

    Thanks for sharing the info and doing the tag 😀

  18. Velverse – Having been to Nawlins twice and eaten enough for three each time, I can say they fit the bill. We have Copeland’s, too.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

